Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Old Souls by D.G. Kaye

Explore the spiritual side of our natures as D.G. Kaye shares her experiences and research into this element of our lives.

You can find the previous post in the series: Are you familiar with Astral Projection?

Old Souls by D.G. Kaye

Welcome back to my Spiritual Awareness series at Sally’s Smorgasbord. Today I’m going to talk about ‘Old Souls’. We hear that term from time to time, usually referred to people who hold the depths of ‘all knowing’ and wisdom at a young age – appearing older and wiser beyond their actual years. This isn’t to be misconstrued with ‘chronological age’ as old soul refers more to, the experience we’ve gathered through our accrued years of knowledge through all our past lives.

Those with a higher level of soul are those who have reached the level of many journeys throughout their lifetimes. It is said that memories don’t come with us in each new life, but the knowledge of life experiences grow with us through each journey. It is also said that just by looking in someone’s eyes you can see their wisdom. This doesn’t mean that person is necessarily highly intelligent, but rather has a high level of ‘spiritual’ intelligence from experiences.

So how do you know if you or someone you know is an old soul?

We all know that when it’s time to leave this earth, we take nothing physical with us. But what about knowledge and lessons learned? We are all spiritual beings, and through our soul’s repeated lifetime experiences, we accrue knowledge and experience that we do take with us into our next lives. Our soul’s experience and development across lifetimes and what we’ve learned from them is what determines our soul age. So, I would suspect that depending on how many other lives we’ve lived, determines how old our souls are, but there are exceptions, depending on the levels we’ve accomplished in each life.

Old souls have certainly garnered lots of life experience and lessons, which adds to the soul age. They have a deep understanding of the world both human and spiritual. But being an old soul is not solely determined by how many lifetimes we’ve lived, but, through those lifetimes, how much our souls have progressed through those life experiences.

Determining a Soul’s Age

It is said there are five earthly soul ages – baby, child, young, mature, and old soul. Each of these five stages have seven levels. All spirits move through these levels with each new incarnation. One can have lived in many incarnations and a person can have lived more reincarnations than levels. After a person reaches all levels as an old soul, a new cycle begins on the astral plane where the spirit continues to learn without having yet another reincarnation.

Having learned lots of life experience through a soul’s journey, old souls garner the ability to see beyond words with their inner wisdom where their values and perspectives are influenced by acquired knowledge. Old souls become the teachers who guide the younger and less experienced souls with divine love and teaching. People who have an inner sense of knowing can sense the power of an old soul.

How do you know if you’re an old soul?

  • You are a kind person because you exude the kindness through the universe. You don’t gravitate to unkind people and do your best to stay away from such personalities.
  • You are known as a calming force. You’ve been around plenty of times to know that everything has a way of working out in the universe. You aren’t big on drama and know there’s a solution for every obstacle so don’t waste time dwelling on problems.
  • You enjoy your own company. You’re polite and friendly, but don’t always care to socialize or get involved in too many relationships. Most relationships in your circles include other old souls or possibly with people who you’ve pre-arranged to be with in a former incarnation.
  • You’re a non-conformist and may even be called rebellious at times. You dance to the beat of your own rhythm, never afraid to push boundaries or have the last word. Your childhood may have felt awkward as you may have felt like a loner and chosen to keep a low profile and be studious.
  • Old souls are empaths, but despite feeling deeply for others, you stay away from other people’s drama.
  • You are always seeking spiritual knowledge. You know how powerful knowledge is so you are always wanting to learn more by reading, self-educating and taking in the experience around you. You connect with people you meet in groups, work, surroundings who are on the same wavelength with interests in the spiritual and metaphysical world.
  • People gravitate to you to listen to your stories or to seek answers or advice. But you don’t try and push your knowledge onto others, nor try to persuade or judge them as everyone must be able to go through their experiences just as you have.
  • You’re able to see the underlying beauty in things and moments, which many tend to overlook or take for granted.
  • The many lifetimes you’ve lived through have finely tuned your intuition and ‘all knowing’. You’ve learned to trust your intuition more than the average person, and when you ‘know’ something without any understanding of why you know, there’s often no explanation.
  • Often, old souls struggle with being dismissed for their idea or wisdom by being rejected or even ridiculed by others. It can also become difficult sometimes to hold back your words of warning to someone who has no interest in what you may have to say. This is all part of those people not yet having learned their karmic lessons. Watching of others suffer unnecessarily can instill pain within you, as typically, old souls are empaths. But people do have their free will. What is your job of being an old soul? By being yourself and defying convention and continuing to do your own thing observing and learning, you are inspiring to others. You lead by example, and teach the willing, If you think you’re an old soul, know that you were put on earth again because you have a purpose. The lessons you bring with you from lifetimes of experience are needed in this time on earth now.
  • A good indicator you have lived past lives may also come to you through ‘déjà vu’. You know that feeling that sometimes comes over us in an instant? It could be when we’re in a certain place, or when we meet a new person and we feel an inner knowing that we know that person, but in actuality, we’ve never met them before in our earthly life. That feeling usually comes because we did know that person – but in another lifetime.

A short story:

Seven years ago, while vacationing in Arizona, I went to the beautiful, mystical place, Sedona. While there I visited a world-wide recommended Medium. My mother had been ‘dying’ for the better part of that year. Seven years had passed that I had made no contact with my mother, but that didn’t mean my abandonment of her didn’t niggle at my brain daily as I still harbored guilt, but I could not go back. I was struggling bad with the dilemma of not speaking to my mother and how I may be affected when she’d finally pass. After the reading I received – and hadn’t divulged anything yet of my life to her, the Medium asked me if I’d like to ask one question. Without detail or backstory, I asked, “What about my mother?” That was all I said.

Her reply, as though she crept into my mind and knew exactly what I was getting at: “You may not know this, but you and your mother were bitter enemies in a previous life. You were sent to teach her lessons, but she failed to learn and will have to repeat those lessons again in her next life.”

That information was huge and so unexpected, but really not hard to understand as I recalled how many times in my life I tried to help my mother better herself and her situations to no avail. But just as I sat there taking it all in and feeling as though I didn’t quite receive the answer I was hoping for, the Medium continued.

“In answer to your question, no, you don’t have to go back. You have only to forgive her for her sins. This will free your Karma, but she will have to redo her life again and learn the lessons before her Karma can be broken.”

She knew. She knew what I was asking. I had been struggling as each month, week and day passed while my mother still lived, living in fear that I was a terrible person not going back to her again because she was dying. At that point it had taken me 50 years to leave her emotional abuse and acrid words and the thought of going to her ate away at my insides daily along with the repercussions of wondering if I could live with myself if I didn’t.
I didn’t. She passed, leaving behind hurtful words for me, no remorse, and died so very alone. I beat myself up mentally and forgave her, which ultimately became the catalyst for my book about it, P.S. I Forgive You. I’m at peace with myself now.

Below, you will find a wonderful video I found, which will give you an idea about traits of an old soul. Fits me perfectly. Oddly enough though, I think it’s my two minds of being a Gemini that entitles me to also be an extrovert as well as one who quite enjoys her alone time.

Do you think you may be an old soul?

©D.G.Kaye 2022

My thanks to Debby for another fascinating post on the spiritual side of our natures. I know she would love to hear from you.

About D.G. Kaye (Debby Gies)

Debby Gies is a Canadian nonfiction/memoir author who writes under the pen name of D.G. Kaye. She was born, raised, and resides in Toronto, Canada. Kaye writes about her life experiences, matters of the heart and women’s issues.

D.G. writes to inspire others. Her writing encompasses stories taken from events she encountered in her own life, and she shares the lessons taken from them. Her sunny outlook on life developed from learning to overcome challenges in her life, and finding the upside from those situations, while practicing gratitude for all the positives.

When Kaye isn’t writing intimate memoirs, she brings her natural sense of humor into her other works. She loves to laugh and self- medicate with a daily dose of humor.

I love to tell stories that have lessons in them, and hope to empower others by sharing my own experiences. I write raw and honest about my own experiences, hoping through my writing, that others can relate and find that there is always a choice to move from a negative space, and look for the positive.

Quotes:

“Live Laugh Love . . . And Don’t Forget to Breathe!”

“For every kindness, there should be kindness in return. Wouldn’t that just make the world right?”

Books by D.G. Kaye including her new book arriving soon Fifteen First Times.

Read all the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – follow Debby: Goodreads – Blog: D.G. Kaye Writer – About me: D.G. Kaye – Twitter: @pokercubster Linkedin: D.G. Kaye – Facebook: D.G. Kaye – Instagram: D.G. Kaye – Pinterest: D.G. Kaye

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you could share Debby’s post.. thanks Sally

 

 

79 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Old Souls by D.G. Kaye

  1. Extremely interesting. I had no idea there was a method of defining a souls age.

    I agree all our interaction with all humans, especially family is a major karmic connection. That connection can be Extremely loving or an opportunity to settle.

    The Soul in my opinion gains habits, personality traits, some of those so good, that the soul is a child genius in their next human birth. Or they so hard and fixed in their negative ways that comes out. Each birth is an opportunity to wipe the slate clean of the negative karmic connection, but that may not always work out. So Forgiveness from a far is a great way to break that karmic connection.

    I think our opportunity to change and transform is available to all. But, may be that is the difference between a soul thst has many biths and one who has less. The older soul has seen a time of harmony and goodness, that tgey want to return to that.

    This such a topic of interest

    Your post is fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Spiritual Awareness – Old Souls by D.G. Kaye | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – DGKayewriter.com

  3. I think I have a few more rounds to go. I do enjoy being by myself and doing my own thing, but I wished I was wiser. Well, hopefully, I’ll get there in time, even if it isn’t in this life. Thanks, Debby, for another fascinating post, and thanks for sharing your personal experience.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – 12th – 18th December 2022 – Ice skating, International Carols, Old Souls, Podcast, Book reviews, Christmas Guest posts, Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  5. Wow, I hit almost all those points, just a few didn’t resonate. I’m not sure if you’ve seen this anywhere, Debby, but I read somewhere old and news souls can be determined by their blood type. I haven’t been able to find the article but thought you may know. x

    Amazing article, thank you for sharing, Sally. x

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Debby, this was a fabulous post. Thank you for sharing the story about the Medium in Arizona and how she helped you with your mom. You have written about your mom before, but the Medium’s advice must have given you peace and closure. When I read the list of ‘how do you know if you’re an old soul’, it was creepy for me. Every single one was me. There are some points no one else knows about, but it is me. Whew! That helps me to understand. Thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. This is another great and informative post in this wonderful series, Debby. I know I have lived many lives before this one, as so many karmic pieces have presented themselves in this life. Have I gotten it all right? NO. I know for sure I haven’t, but I will continue making an effort as long as I have breath. Then when the breath leaves the body, I’ll try some more in the ethereal body.

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Like Pete, I don’t know if I’m truly an old soul, but that list covers most of the attributes I look for in a good friend and is a general guideline for how I try to behave and think. Plenty of food for thought here, Debby, and that experience with the medium is extraordinary. I’ve just finished P.S. I Forgive You and found it a powerful and moving piece of writing. ♥♥

    Liked by 2 people

  9. A great post, Debby. I feel like a lot of writers are old souls. I have told my loved ones don’t try to talk me back into another life, this is my last one… lol. I agree with you on forgiveness being so important to our own Karma and have worked hard to forgive my parents and now the younger generation. I find a lot of peace in that.

    Liked by 3 people

    • Hi Denise. I would agree with you on many writers being old souls. And I’m with you, I’ve been told of two other lives I’ve had – that were not exactly happy. I wonder if our souls get tired of these many journeys. I’d be perfectly happy to stay in heaven with my husband when the time comes. I’ve also read that some wait 1000 years till they reincarnate! As far as forgiveness goes, I’ve learned a lot about that in this life, and I know that after 50 years of angst with my mother, I finally felt the peace within after forgiving her. So I get you. Hugs xx

      Liked by 2 people

  10. What a great post, Debby. I think I’ve known old souls in my life, and I think I’ll work my way there eventually. A few more rounds. 🙂 The story of meeting the medium was fascinating, and it’s amazing how healing her advice was for you. You don’t need to live through that one again, even if your mom does. Thanks for the wonderful post and thanks for featuring our friend, Sally.

    Liked by 3 people

  11. I really appreciate the idea of old souls, and your description of them is excellent. I’ve often posed that question to myself, and you have provided more food for thought. Thanks for sharing your insights, and thanks to Sally for hosting.
    Reblogged on Improvisation – “The Art of Living”
    https://williampriceking.tumblr.com/

    Liked by 3 people

  12. Hmm, 90% of the description of an old soul sounds like me. I agree with Robbie that is a fascinating subject. The idea of reincarnation and past lives is an interesting topic. I’m not sure what I believe, but I’m open to the idea.

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.