Smorgasbord Book Promotions – New Book on the Shelves – #Memoir #Dogs The Mutt for Me: A Beautiful Transformation from Project Dog to Man’s Best Friend by Don Hughes

Delighted to share the news of the recent release of The Mutt for Me: A Beautiful Transformation from Project Dog to Man’s Best Friend by Don Hughes

About the Book

A memoir of second chances, healing, and how rescuing a dog rescued me

Having never had a dog of his own before, Don was not prepared for what it meant to adopt one of the most behaviorally difficult rescues in the shelter. But something about Barbie, a mutt that everyone had given up on and so fearful and unresponsive that she was within days of being put down, convinced Don to open his home and his heart for the first time to a canine companion, changing both of their lives forever.

Interspersed with Don’s most poignant memories of volunteering at his local animal shelter, The Mutt for Me follows the many misadventures of Don and Barbie on their mutual journey of growth and healing. You’ll see Barbie transform from the terrified, despondent recluse to the lively and almost always well-behaved dog she is today.

As the first-time dog dad of a pup in need of significant behavioral development, Don shows that with enough love, patience, and dedication, anyone can provide a home to a rescue animal. The Mutt for Me is a heartwarming story about how our pets have the capacity to transform and heal us as much as we can do the same for them.

“A captivating and endearing true story. The Mutt for Me perfectly illustrates how adopting a dog destined to be euthanized can transform the lives of both the dog and the adopter. This is a heartwarming and poignant read, recommended for all dog lovers.Alyson Sheldrake, author of Kat the Dog: The Remarkable Tale of a Rescued Spanish Water Dog

One of the early reviews for the book on Goodreads

I LOVED this book. It was a really quick read, but so wholesome, and heartwarming. As an animal shelter volunteer myself, I appreciated the “realness” and the actual picture of what shelters are like. As an adopter of 3 rescue dogs, and 1 rescue Carolina Dog from Mesa, AZ myself, I felt this book. It shook me. It was an accurate look at how difficult it is to raise a rescue dog, but also how rewarding it can be. The author unravels how Barbie went from a shaking scared dog, to one that is comfortable at doggy day care and hogs the bed. I would recommend this book to anyone who as a misconception about adopting rescue dogs. Yes, they have their quirks, but with the right amount of love and attention, they’re just as good (and let’s be real, usually better behaved) as designer or bred dogs. 5 Stars. This is going on my bookshelf. 

Head over to read the reviews and buy the book: Amazon US And: Amazon UK – Reviews: Goodreads – Website: Don Hughes Author – Follow Don: Facebook

About Don Hughes

Don Hughes was born in Johnson City, Tennessee, before moving at an early age to a Chicago suburb called Lake Zurich. After graduating high school, he received a bachelor’s degree in political science and history from the University of Illinois, followed by a master’s degree in public administration from Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

He began working on political campaigns in Illinois right after college, starting out as a volunteer by walking precincts, stuffing envelopes, and attending fundraisers. Eventually he worked his way up to paid staff jobs on the Senator Charles Percy reelection campaign in 1978 and the George H. W. Bush campaign for president in 1980. The highlight of his political career was being elected at age twenty-seven to the Palatine Park District Board of Commissioners.

Following graduation from the Kennedy School, Don focused on shaping public policy in the areas of health care, insurance, behavioral health, and Medicaid at the state level until retiring in 2020. He served as deputy director for policy and health care policy advisor for Arizona Governor Janice Brewer, overseeing a staff of ten policy advisors. He was responsible for reforming the behavioral health system, expanding Medicaid, innovating health care, and improving insurance practices.

In 2017, Don found his true calling volunteering at the Maricopa County Animal Care and Control West Shelter as an adoption counselor. In 2018 alone, he helped more than 275 dogs and eighteen cats find their forever homes.

 

Thanks for dropping in today and it would be great if you could help share the news of Don’s book on your own social media.. Thanks Sally.

 

64 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Book Promotions – New Book on the Shelves – #Memoir #Dogs The Mutt for Me: A Beautiful Transformation from Project Dog to Man’s Best Friend by Don Hughes

    • Hi Michael,
      Because of Barbie’s behavioral problems, it was more challenging than I imagined it would be to win her trust. I tried to be honest in the book about those challenges, the steps I took to meet them and the low points when I doubted my ability to help her. Rescue dogs like Barbie just need someone to believe in them enough to see past the fear and realize there’s a great dog just waiting to emerge.

      I hope you enjoy the Mutt for Me.

      Don

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Weekly Round Up – September 11th – 17th 2023 – Cars, New Projects, Big Band, U2, Podcast, Book Reviews, Health, Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. I’m a lifelong dog owner. Some of those pets have come from shelters. I was the Student Council advisor at my school and used to take the kids down to the animal shelter to volunteer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Don, congratulations on your book.

    I, never in my life, was a dog person. I didn’t mind them from afar, but I did not want them close to me. BUT…something changed––a 180˚ change.

    In 2022, I adopted a rescue “pup” who was 13 years old from a shelter in Arizona. One look and I fell in love with Cricket. She stole my heart.

    I would have never chosen to read a book about dogs, but that’s changed too. I am looking forward to reading The Mutt for Me. I am so glad that you saved Barbie.

    Here’s an introduction to Cricket.
    https://www.donnafigurski.com/bookity-blog/archives/07-2022

    If you want to read the whole story, click here.
    https://www.fd81.net/donna-odonnell-figurski-2021—1.html

    I hope you sell millions.

    donna o’donnell figurski – author

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Thomas,
      Volunteering at our County animal shelter was the most rewarding and heartbreaking thing I’ve done. It made me question my faith in humanity and restore it often in the same day. I made a lot of good friends, both 2 and 4 legged. And eventually I met Barbie who was a challenge as she was afraid of everything. She’s changed so much in the 4 years I’ve had her, my Shelter friends don’t recognize her.

      Don

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Reading the book description brought goosebumps to my arms. What a kind heart! What a dedication to a good cause! I look forward to reading this book one day. Good luck to Don and thank you for sharing, Sally.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.