Smorgasbord Book Reviews – #Fantasy #Adventure – Wreck of the Lanternfish by C.S. Boyack

Delighted to share my review for  C.S. Boyack and the third in a great series The Wreck of the Lanternfish.

About the book

James Cuttler created a peaceful spot for he and his wife to settle down. Far from the war that ravages their homeland, far from the reputation he earned as the notorious Captain Bloodwater, and far from responsibility.

A royal Prelonian houseguest is a constant reminder of what’s at stake half a world away, of the friends he put ashore to fight the war. He lives in a dream world that’s temporary, at best. It’s only a matter of time before his guest is identified and the black assassins come for her.

He mortgages his precious vineyard to pay for repairs to his ship. If nothing else, Lanternfish will be one of the most powerful ships in the war. He’ll need to avoid those on his own side who would hang him for piracy.

Serang is half a world away, leading her army of mercenary swordsmen toward the Fulminites. Mistrusted by both sides of the war, she appears as a third combatant on the battlefield. She may eliminate the mysterious order, only to succumb to the demons of her own tragic past.

Strap on your swords and hoist the colors one more time as the thrilling Lanternfish Trilogy comes to an end.

My review for the book February 19th 2022

I was looking forward to this final book in the Lanternfish trilogy and was not disappointed in the slightest.

We hit the deck running as the Lanternfish is refurbished, outfitted and crewed by favourite characters in a final effort to turn the tide of the war and free their country from tyranny.

James Cuttler has won the hearts and minds of his motley crew of friends, pirates, travellers met in previous adventures and the root monsters who bring so much humour to the stories. They would follow him to the ends of the earth and do battle with him whatever the odds.

Others we have met along the way in the series are also working towards the same goal, often under dangerous conditions such as months undercover with the enemy to gather intelligence, or sweeping across the land destroying the often mystical evil elements intent on domination and enslavement of the population.

The author has done an excellent job of creating the fantasy world and the memorable characters who inhabit its land and seas. The battles in both these elements are masterful and detailed as you are swept along with the Samurai army and the crew of the Lanternfish as they adapt and invent ways to defeat the enemy.

Whilst this book is action packed, it also has moments of reflection on both sides that provide hope for the future. All the threads of the story come together in the last chapters to provide a very satisfactory ending to this highly recommended trilogy.

Head over to buy the book: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UK

A selection of other books by C.S. Boyack

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and :Amazon UK – Follow Craig: Goodreads – blog:Cold Hand BoyackTwitter: @Virgilante  

About C.S. Boyack

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

 

Thanks for dropping in and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. thanks Sally

 

87 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Book Reviews – #Fantasy #Adventure – Wreck of the Lanternfish by C.S. Boyack

  1. I enjoyed this entire series and REALLY enjoyed his spinoff book, SERANG, because she’s one of my favorite characters. I was sad to see the series end, but Craig will come up with something just as entertaining next time around:)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed this book too, Sally. It was a great conclusion to the series, and Craig did a fantastic job wrapping up all the plot threads. I know it was a huge undertaking for him, and he really pulled it off!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Round Up – February 14th – 20th 2022 – Birds, Anniversary, Hits 1988, Puerto Vallarta, Vit B3, Stories, Reviews and Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  4. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine Round Up – February 14th – 20th 2022 – | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  5. CONGRATULATIONS, SALLY. I HAVE A NEW LAPTOP SO EXCUSE CAPITAL LETTERS
    A PROBLEM AT PRESENT…EXCELLENT REVIEW OF LANTERNFISH SERIES. CHEERS XX

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Just read your review, Sally, and you’re right – just a great review and no spoilers! I’m starting a list of books to bring up from the depths of my Kindle and the Lanternfish has just joined it! ♥♥

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Congrats to Craig on the wonderful review, Sally. I’ve read the first book in the series and loved the shipboard detail… and the root monsters, of course. I’ll get through the series eventually and can’t wait. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

  8. I haven’t read this review yet because I’m part way through the series and loving it. I’ve kept your review as unread and hope to be reading it soon! ♥♥

    Liked by 2 people

  9. I agree with every word of this review, Sally, and highly recommend this entire series! I also suggest to start with the first book to get acquainted with the characters. Thank you for sharing and congrats to Craig!!

    Liked by 4 people

Comments are closed.