Smorgasbord Bookshelf 2022- Share an Extract from your latest book – #YA #BlendedFamilies – Hype by Yvette Calleiro

In this series you are invited to share an extract of 500 words from your most recent book published within the last 12 months. Details at the end of the post.

The aim of the series

  1. To showcase your latest book and sell some more copies.
  2. Gain more reviews for the book.
  3. Promote a selection of your other books that are available.

Today I would I am sharing an extract from the latest release by Yvette M. Calleiro a Young Adult novel Hype.

About the book

Cici’s junior year in high school is going to be the best year ever. Popular co-captain of the varsity cheerleading team, she’s dating the starting quarterback. Even her jealous co-captain’s attempts to steal her boyfriend can’t curb her enthusiasm.

When her mom moves in with her fiancé, a handsome, wealthy man, only one small detail threatens Cici’s perfect life. The school’s social pariah is about to become her stepsister, and Cici wants nothing to do with her.

Everything changes when someone Cici cares about throws her life into a tailspin, and the one person Cici couldn’t stand becomes her only ally.

Warning: This story contains scenes of sexual assault.

An extract from Hype

Mr. Cooper comes from around his desk to shake my hand. The first thing I notice is his happy eyes. They seem to smile all on their own. Curly, brown hair curves around the sides of his head, leaving the top bald. His bushy mustache almost completely covers his mouth; it’s good his eyes smile for him. I want to relax around him. He has this positive energy about him, but I keep my guard up.

“Come in. Come in. You must be Cecilia.” He shakes my hand and points to a chair in front of his desk. Instead of going to sit in his chair, he closes his door and sits in the chair next to me. “I’m Mr. Cooper, the school’s TRUST counselor. A friend of yours is worried about you and asked me to meet with you.”
Dee. It has to be.

“I’m not sure if you know who I am or what I do.”

I shake my head, although I have a pretty good idea what he’s about to say.

He smiles. “I am not a regular counselor. I don’t handle schedules and high school credits.

I deal with more sensitive issues. Students come to me when they want to speak privately about issues such as homosexuality, relationship problems, anorexia, bulimia, suicidal thoughts, physical or emotional abuse, rape, problems with friends, etc.”

I look up at him when he says the word ‘rape’ automatically and curse myself silently for doing so. He continues.

“You can talk to me about anything. You and your thoughts and words are safe here.”

I like Mr. Cooper, despite what his job is, and I really want to let it all spill out of my mouth.

“And everything I say is confidential?”

“Yes, everything is kept private between us. However, there are three details I cannot keep private for your own safety. One is if you want to harm yourself. Another is if you want to harm someone else. And the last one is if you are being abused or have been abused in any way. Your safety is the most important thing to me, and to keep you safe, I cannot keep those details confidential. I would have to get additional help, but I would be with you through every step.”

I shut down.

“Cecilia-”

“Cici,” I correct him.

The smile again. “Cici, I work with plenty of troubled teens. The teenage years can be the most difficult in anyone’s life. I can help you get through whatever seems to be troubling you. Each person’s problems always seem bigger than they are. Sometimes, sharing them with a stranger who will not judge you and will hold what you say in confidence can help you work through it.”

I say nothing and stare at him. What I want to share is something he could not hold in confidence, so I stay quiet.

One of the recent reviews for the book

Miriam Hurdle 5.0 out of 5 stars A Realistic Teenage Girl’s Struggle that Needs Attention Reviewed in the United States on February 20, 2022

I love the cover of HYPE. Cecilia (Cici) in the story is the girl wearing the cheering leading uniform. Gaby is the girl in gothic style. The face with duct tape crossing the mouth describes the horror and the girls’ fear of speaking out. The story is told in the first person POV. I find it intimate to listen to Cici telling her story.

Yvette Calleiro creates this story with the seamless blend of her experiences as a high school cheerleader, later a high school teacher, and the observation of the TRUST counseling at the school. Cici has everything a teenage girl hopes for, a loving mother, a comfortable home, co-caption of the cheering leading team, and a sincere relationship with Ryne who won the title of Prom King. Whereas Gaby is a self-absorbed and gothic-looking girl every student tries to avoid. Cici’s world turns upside down when her mom remarried John, bringing Gaby to be her stepsister. Cici is happy for her mom to marry a loving guy but dreads having Gaby in the same house. The unthinkable happens after John and Gaby moved in. John rapes her and threatens the safety of her mom. Cici then finds out Gaby is John’s stepdaughter who suffers from the same fate. The girls have become friends and talk at school. They are afraid that they must allow John to abuse them for one more year before they leave the house for college.

The story is well constructed. Young adults can identify many high school activities and social life in the first half of the book. The second half of the book powerfully describes the predator who appears to be a wolf in the sheepskin who preys on the teenage girls. He looks smart, friendly, and successful. He is skillful to threaten these young girls to keep their mouths shut while continually abusing them for a lengthy period. I’m glad to learn that some high schools have TRUST counselors who establish a trust relationship with the students to help them during crises.

I read the book in one sitting and was glad that it came to a clever ending. Highly recommended.  

Head over to buy the book: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UK – And: Smashwords

A selection of other books by Yvette M. Calleiro

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US And: Amazon UK – Read more reviews: GoodreadsAuthor Blog: Yvette M. Calleiro Blogspot – Twitter: @YvetteMCalleiro – Facebook: Yvette M. Calleiro

About Yvette M. Calleiro

Yvette M. Calleiro is a heavily addicted reader of both young adult and adult novels. She spends most of her time pseudo-living in paranormal worlds with her fictional friends (and boyfriends). When she’s living among real people, Yvette M. Calleiro is a middle school Reading and Language Arts teacher. She’s been sharing her love of literature with her students for over twenty years. Besides writing about the various characters that whisper (and sometimes scream) in her head, she enjoys traveling, watching movies, spending quality time with family and friends, and enjoying the beauty of the ocean.

Yvette lives in Miami, Florida, with her incredible son who has embraced her love for paranormal and adventurous stories. She also shares her space with an assortment of crazy saltwater animals in her 300-gallon tank.

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books.. thanks Sally.

What will be in the post and how to get in touch

      • I will top and tail in the usual way with your other books and links, bio, photo and social media.
      • I will also select a review from Amazon or Goodreads that I feel has the best selling pitch for the book.
      • If your book is very recent and as yet has not received a review then I will share one from a previous book.
      • This series is open to all authors both those on the Bookshelf or new to the blog
      • I suggest an extract of approximately 500 words or a poem that you feel best reflects the theme of your collection.
      • If you have an illustration or images you can attach to the email for me to include. No need to send the cover as I will have that or will access from Amazon.
      • If you have not featured on the blog before then I will need Amazon link, Goodreads, blog or website plus your social media links (main three you use)
      • Please send your extract and any accompanying images to sally.cronin@moyhill.com

53 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Bookshelf 2022- Share an Extract from your latest book – #YA #BlendedFamilies – Hype by Yvette Calleiro

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – 4th – 10th April 2022 – Hits 1992, Dionne Warwick, Legacy, Movie memories, Book Reviews, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. I feel for Cici. Here is a counselor who seems eager to help, but laws restrict him from allowing kids to be completely honest. She seems to need his help, so it is unfortunate. As a teacher, I’ve had to preface conversations with the same warning, so I know how conversation stopping it can be. I feel the frustration on both sides. Great way to capture the sentiment!

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Excellent excerpt and a gripping review from Miriam. This book sounds intense, but its also an important topic as sexual abuse is still prevalent in our world. Congrat to Yvette on the 5-star review and thanks, Sally, for sharing. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I really enjoyed this book from Yvette. In my review I said every teenage girl should read it and I still think so. Such a huge life lesson shown in the story! Thank you for showcasing “Hype” today, Sally!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Bookshelf 2022- Share an Extract from your latest bo ok – #YA #BlendedFamilies – Hype by Yvette Calleiro #ReadingWith TheAuthors – PattysWorld

Comments are closed.