Smorgasbord Podcast – What’s in a Name? Volume One – Alexander – Defender of Men Part One by Sally Cronin

There are names that have been passed down through thousands of years which have powerful and deep-rooted meaning to their bearers. Other names have been adopted from other languages, cultures and from the big screen. They all have one thing in common. They are with us from birth until the grave and they are how we are known to everyone that we meet.

Alexander – Defender of Men – Part One

 

One of the reviews for the collection.

Mar 15, 2019 James rated it Five Stars it was amazing

There are many topics that will draw my attention to a book. In Sally Cronin’s collection ‘What’s in a name?’ I found a whole bunch that piqued my curiosity: short stories, genealogy, and how first names are chosen. On top of that, it’s the first volume in this series, which means I have another to read soon. Now this made my weekend!

Cronin shares ~20 short stories covering the letters A through J in volume one. She lists a male and a female name for each letter, then contributes a story ranging from five to ten pages each. Short, but not simple, and I mean that in a good way. Cronin packs an immense amount into each brief tale… whether it’s personality traits, complex plots, or comparisons between two people over different periods of time, I found everything from nuggets of glory to hilarious banter.

One of my favorite aspects of this work was the varying time frames, locations, and genres of each short story. Cronin deals with normal life events, everything from death to pregnancy, marriage to sickness. How she manages to pack such a punch with so many characters in so few pages is astonishing! I kinda want a sequel to cover what ends up happening to many of the people we’ve met.

If you’re looking for something fun, clever, and easy-to-digest in short samples, this is definitely for you. I recommend it for those interested in learning about how personalities sometime echo the name chosen for an individual… and perhaps vice versa. Kudos to the author for finding a new fan… and I’ll be reading volume two next month, so be prepared!

You can find out more about my books and reviews: Sally’s Books and Reviews

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will join me next week for the second part of the story.

28 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Podcast – What’s in a Name? Volume One – Alexander – Defender of Men Part One by Sally Cronin

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round up July 25th – 31st July 2022 – Hits 2000, Nina Simone, Waterford, History, Podcast, Book Reviews, Summer Bookfair, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. You seem to have hit a familiar streak with Alexander! My father was one and that’s where the Alex comes from. I loved both of these What’s in a Name books and I know I shall be revisiting them. xx

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Lol, frosty bum. And love how Alexander’s name was chosen from Alexander the Great. Looking forward to part 2 to see if he lives up to his name. 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Ah
    Just had to listen to this for two reasons
    My grandson is Alexander
    And what’s I a name is definitely a story I tell.
    Maybe one day I will tell it.
    ‘What’s my name?’ A question and story I share in school
    I shall look forward to part two

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round up July 25th – 31st July 2022 – Hits 2000, Nina Simone, Waterford, History, Podcast, Book Reviews, Summer Bookfair, Health and Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

Comments are closed.