Smorgasbord Health Column 2023 – Some interesting information about #Gluten and #Milk to consider by Sally Cronin

Today some excerpts from a book that might be of interest to those of you who are gluten or lactose intolerant or allergic. They come from the book Curing the Incurable: Beyond the Limits of Medicine: What survivors or major illnesses can teach us by Dr. Jerry Thompson. A book that I will be reviewing later in the summer.

About the book

There is a steady stream of articles and books about ‘miraculous’ cures from the chronic illnesses that face us in the 21st century: autoimmune conditions such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis; neurodegenerative diseases, such as Parkinson’s, MS and Alzheimer’s; and many cancers. But if all these individual cases are brought together and reviewed systematically, something much more practical and less miraculous emerges – a set of principles to guide us to better health and a greater chance of recovery. Dr Jerry Thompson draws on an immense range of case histories and research studies to show how what we eat, the toxic load we carry, the environmental electromagnetic fields we live in, and our beliefs and attitudes to health and illness can change the course of disease.

The result is a practical guide to what we can learn from ‘survivors’ about how to improve our chances of good health and recovery.

Here are the two excerpts from the book that I found particularly interesting

Chapter 2 – Gluten

For anyone with a serious disease there is another important reason why wheat could be an issue. Originally, wheat contained 10% gluten; now, following a switch to mutated forms of dwarf wheat in the last 50 years, the gluten content has risen to 80%.

During this time, the incidence of coeliac disease in the UK has shown a steep rise (from one in 8,000 in 1950 to one in 100 today); this is likely due to changes in wheat and in bread-making. This is no small matter. For instance, 54% of neurological patients have antibodies to gluten compared with 12% of healthy people, and 16% of these previously undiagnosed neurological patients * have been found to have coeliac disease after gut biopsies. For many patients with neurological or autoimmune diseases, removing gluten can be an essential step in their recovery.

*  Hadjivassillou M, Grunewald RA, Davies-Jones GAB. Gluten sensitivity as a neurological illness. J Neurol Neurosurg Psychiatry 2002; 72(5): 560-563.

Milk and butter

… today milk has changed beyond recognition; it is positively associated with some types of cancer and with heart disease. What has happened? And why has it changed so much?

There are several reasons. Firstly, cows are selectively bred to produce far greater quantities of milk. They naturally produce about 1,000 litres of milk a year, but 30 years ago were managing 5,000 litres a year. Today, the average dairy cow produces 7,000 litres a year, and some high-yielding cows produce 10,000 litres a year*. Secondly, cows are fed on poor-quality grains as opposed to grass.

*  Lymbery P, Oakeshott I. Farmaggedon. London, UK: Bloomsbury Publishing Ltd; 2014: chapter 6.

The outcome of both of these changes is predictable: progressive nutrient depletion. Between 1940 and 2002, the following minerals had all declined in milk: iron, copper, sodium, potassium, magnesium, phosphorus, calcium and copper. Milk from pasture-fed cows contains far higher levels (50-184% higher) of omega-3 fats and of carotenoids (60-436% higher)* than does milk from cows fed on grains.

*  Pickett H. Nutritional benefits of higher welfare products. 2012. www.compassioninfoodbusiness.com/media/5234769/Nutritional-benefits-of-higher-welfare-animal-products-June-2012.pdf (accessed 27 April 2020)

However, the problems with milk don’t end there. Homogenising and pasteurising milk mean exposing it to very high temperatures and pressures that alter its quality. (While pasteurisation only requires 60ºC, much pasteurisation uses ‘high temperature short time’ (HTST) processes, which go up to double this temperature.) These methods are similar to the process involved in hydrogenating fats.

——–
Dr Jerry Thompson has been working as a doctor for over four decades, mostly in general practice. He now works part-time in general practice at the Welby Practice, Bottesford, in the East Midlands. He has been a long-standing member of the British Society for Ecological Medicine (BSEM). www.drjerrythompson.co.uk.

N.B. We have an excellent source of dairy here in Ireland. I personally don’t drink much milk as it started to cause me stomach issues some years ago. But we do eat butter and I can buy guaranteed grass fed dairy cows which means it actually contains vitamin K2, which cows who don’t have access to grazing don’t have.

You can buy the book: Amazon UKAnd: Amazon US

I hope you have found interesting and I will review the book at a later date.

©sally cronin Just Food for Health 1998 – 2023

A little bit about me nutritionally. .

About Sally Cronin

I am a qualified nutritional therapist with twenty-four years experience working with clients in Ireland and the UK as well as being a health consultant on radio in Spain.

Although I write a lot of fiction, I actually wrote my first two books on health, the first one, Size Matters, a weight loss programme 21 years ago, based on my own weight loss of 154lbs. My first clinic was in Ireland, the Cronin Diet Advisory Centre and my second book, Just Food for Health was written as my client’s workbook. Since then I have written a men’s health manual, and anti-aging programme, articles for magazines, radio programmes and posts here on Smorgasbord.

You can buy my books from: Amazon US – and: Amazon UK – Follow me :Goodreads – Twitter: @sgc58 – Facebook: Sally Cronin – LinkedIn: Sally Cronin

 

41 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Health Column 2023 – Some interesting information about #Gluten and #Milk to consider by Sally Cronin

  1. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – 14th -20th August 2023 – Big Band Era, The Boss, Mushrooms, Gluten, Book Reviews, Book Excerpts, Bloggers, Humour | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  2. What have we done with our precious food, Sally? I had not known before, that wheat has changed so much, and also milk has lost so many important ingredients. Ireland we are coming! 😉 Be blessed keeping the agriculture in Ireland humanized I am feeling so sorry for all the patients like the literally white mice in the cage of the big food industries. Thanks for sharing the information, Sally! Enjoy your weekend!
    P.S.: Someone had attacked the servers of our hosting provider, and all published postings had gone. I am now setting up a new blog, and will take war-like cautionery.:-) xx Michael

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We had milk straight from the cow when staying with grandparents…and ‘proper’ milk in a glass bottle when at home. I was always worried about the boosting of milk production, but had no idea that things were that bad.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Stevie. I certainly have not had much for several years and drink my tea and coffee black and seldom eat cereal. I seem okay with the occasional small amount of cream and ice cream but can’t overdo those either… This book certainly gives plenty to think about.. xx

      Like

  4. Industrialization of our food system has left us with an abundance of food but lacking in basic nutrition. We seem to keep creating these systems that are good for some economically, but devastating to the overall health of the population.
    I guess I am very lucky. Although I don’t drink it myself, the milk I buy here in Vermont comes in glass jars, is from grass fed cows, and I can select the variety that is not homogenized and has the cream on top. But many in my family still cannot process it, except for aged cheeses. I think it comes down to the basic question of why we humans are consuming milk from another mammal. I say this as I think about all the cheeses I love!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Dorothy and agree with everything you say. I do lay much of the blame on the production processes but also the fads that swing in and out regarding certain natural functions such as breast feeding babies. Millions are now given formulas that are nothing like mother’s milk and have so many additives that they create a craving for sugars that is reinforced when they are moved on to manufactured baby food. A mother’s milk including the very important colostrum during the first 48 hours that boosts the babies immune system is now being missed out of so many babies diets. Genetically there are millions in the world you are intolerant to lactose. Especially those whose ancestors would not have had access to milk.. however others such as some African tribes have evolved drinking milk as it was the only protein available to them and have built up a tolerance and that has been passed along through the generations. I find it fascinating and having worked with clients from around the world, I do know that reverting them to their ancestral diet does make a difference. And a bit of really good matured cheese from time to time does nobody any harm.. ♥♥

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Smorgasbord Health Column 2023 – Some interesting information about #Gluten and #Milk to consider by Sally Cronin | Retired? No one told me!

  6. Thanks for this book alert Sal, I’m definitely grabbing a paperback copy! I read a while back what has become of wheat and it’s enormously large gluten content compared to golden days. As for the milk production, that’s astoundingly sad on so many levels. I haven’t eaten dairy in eons – other than chocolate of course, which thankfully, I can get away with. And as you know, I don’t eat gluten either. So hopefully, my gut will continue to thank me. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That’s rather frightening, Sally. It’s the usual story, though. Interference with natural products for more money.
    My son’s girlfriend is gluten intolerant. I have gluten free products in my freezer for when they come.
    My family were involved until recently in dairy production. Their cattle were grass fed in the summer months, and in the winter, when they were kept in, fed on silage, which is derived from grass.
    They drank their own milk (as did I, growing up) which came after being cooled, but no other procedures. However, my niece-in-law refused to give it to her children, buying supermarket milk for them. Your article makes me wonder if the farm milk would have been better.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Viv, what a privilege to grow up drinking milk from the source.. these days they do frown on it but in the UK there is certainly a following for raw milk or at least pasturised on the farm for consumption rather than being transported to a central facility where they overheat the milk. I certainly buy local Irish milk but it still does not have the same taste as my childhood. The butter however does come from summer grazing herds and they also feed silage in the winter which is much better than shed of cattle fed on corn and never seeing a blade of grass..yet they tout both corn fed beef and corn fed chicken which is not the best by any means. ♥

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I can’t believe how high that jump in gluten is …I grew up like you drinking milk delivered in glass bottles and when I was at my grandads farm I had milk direct from the cow that probably wouldn’t be allowed now or a good idea…This sounds like an interesting read, Sally Hugs xx

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I didn’t know that milk had changed so much over the years. I do remember when I was growing up in Vermont, we could tell the difference in the taste between summer, when cows were set out to pasture and when they had to be switched over to hay and grain. (The milk came from a local dairy.) Maybe it’s just as well that I switched to almond milk a number of years ago?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.