Smorgasbord Book Promotions – New Book on the Shelves – #PostApocalyptic #SciFi – Once Upon a Time in the Swamp by C.S. Boyack

Delighted to share the news of the latest release by C.S. Boyack... a post apocalyptic science fiction novel Once Upon a Time in the Swamp.

About the book

Mari and her husband opted for a simple life as farmers. It’s been decades since the world tore itself apart, pitting neighbor against neighbor and family against each other. They were happy in this re-emerging world, until disaster struck.

Mari sets out on a solo quest to avenge the deaths of her family and loss of everything she holds dear. She’s ill equipped for the task, but seems to have time on her hands. Time alone in the wilderness to deal with her personal demons along the way.

She is helped by a few sympathetic elders and a couple of animal companions with lessons Mari can use if she pays attention. Can Mari find justice for her family?

Set in a post apocalyptic, Gulf Coast world, this is a story for fans of the old Spaghetti Westerns.

And early review for the book

D.L. Finn 5.0 out of 5 stars A hard story to put down!  Reviewed in the United States on April 27, 2023

“Once Upon a Time in the Swamp” starts with a peaceful moment as Mari is hunting for a meal for her family. What she comes home to is heartbreaking and a loss so bad that her life is never the same. At first, it seems the story is being told in the past, but as details are added, it becomes clear that something has happened—a civil war that ended modern society. When Mari attempts to get help from local authorities, she is brushed aside. So, she sets out to hunt down the men who did this to her family. Some of my favorite characters were the ox, Dirt and the puppy, Worthless, and Mari’s interactions with them. Although set in the grim aftermath of a war, there were people still willing to help her. These were the places I hoped she’d find some peace and give up her vengeance. But Mari’s strength and determination became inspiring when she refused to give up on getting her family some justice.

The settings were highly detailed, down to making soap and learning to shoot and fight, which immersed me in this world and made me wonder if I could do what she was doing. This was a hard story to put down, and I honestly wasn’t sure how this would all turn out, but I was happy with the conclusion. A well-written post-apocalyptic world that gives us a glimpse of what could be if we stay on our current path. Despite that, there is some hope weaved into it as there’s still good left too. I can easily recommend this story. 

Head over to buy the book: Amazon USAnd: Amazon UKUniversal Link for other Amazon sites: Mybook.to

A selection of books by C.S. Boyack

Read the reviews and buy the books: Amazon US – and :Amazon UK – Follow Craig: Goodreads – blog:Cold Hand BoyackTwitter: @Virgilante

About C.S. Boyack

I was born in a town called Elko, Nevada. I like to tell everyone I was born in a small town in the 1940s. I’m not quite that old, but Elko has always been a little behind the times. This gives me a unique perspective of earlier times, and other ways of getting by. Some of this bleeds through into my fiction.

I moved to Idaho right after the turn of the century, and never looked back. My writing career was born here, with access to other writers and critique groups I jumped in with both feet.

I like to write about things that have something unusual. My works are in the realm of science fiction, paranormal, and fantasy. The goal is to entertain you for a few hours. I hope you enjoy the ride.

Thanks for dropping in today and I hope you will be leaving with some books …

 

66 thoughts on “Smorgasbord Book Promotions – New Book on the Shelves – #PostApocalyptic #SciFi – Once Upon a Time in the Swamp by C.S. Boyack

  1. Great review from Denise and plenty of other recommendations for this new book. Off to Amazon! Congratulations, Craig!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Smorgasbord Blog Magazine – Weekly Round Up – May 1st – 7th 2023 – The Coronation, Family Photographs, Big Band Era, Guest Columns, Podcast, Book Reviews and Funnies | Smorgasbord Blog Magazine

  3. Thank you, Sally, for showcasing Craig’s latest. Denise’s review is terrific. I’ve got Once Upon A Time In The Swamp waiting for me on my Kindle. I’m excited to begin the read. Congratulations to Craig!

    Liked by 3 people

  4. This was such a good story. Someone mentioned that it was heavy, and parts of it were, but Marisol was such a wonderful character and Craig did a great job of world-building. I can definitely add my recommendation for it. Thanks, Sally!

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Good to see Craig featured here today, Sally. I have this book awaiting me on my Kindle, and am looking forward to reading it! Here’s to another huge success with this one, Craig! 😀

    Liked by 3 people

Comments are closed.